Join Team AVCon

AVCon began in 2002 as a joint convention supported by volunteers from the University of South Australia’s Adelaide Japanese Animation Society (AJAS) and the Adelaide University Video Gamers Association (AUVGA). Originally known as the A/V Connection, the event was held annually at the University of Adelaide.

After four successful annual conventions, Team AVCon Incorporated was an independent entity to run and sustain the annual convention. Team AVCon Incorporated is a not-for-profit organisation aiming to keep AVCon fun, open, and accessible.

AVCon is organised by an elected team, who manage and work within an organising committee. The elected members are voted in by the Team AVCon Incorporated Membership at the end of each year.

The AVCon membership consists of past and present volunteers who have shown their dedication to making AVCon a success. The members of Team AVCon Incorporated have a great interest in anime, video games and Japanese culture. This interest drives them to make AVCon the best it can be and ensures that AVCon remains a festival for the fans.

The Elect

The Team AVCon Elect is a four-member team elected at the Annual General Meeting by the organisation’s membership. The Elect appoints the Committee and guides the overall direction of the organisation and Festival.

Convenor Emily Franzon
Vice Convenor
Secretary Lauren Cronin
Treasurer Thomas Birdseye

The Committee

The Team AVCon Committee is responsible for the running of the festival. The structure of the Committee is determined by the Elect each year. Each role on the Committee is responsible for a particular facet of the festival.

Community Events Coordinator
Design Coordinator Rae Harris
Events Coordinator Matthew Owen
Marketing Coordinator Georgia Halliday
Sponsorship Coordinator Thao Vuong
Tabletop Coordinators Clare Edgecombe and Tyler Brown
Technical Officer Daniel Mawson
Ticketing Coordinator
Venue Coordinator JP Franzon
Games Coordinator Adam Henderson
Volunteer Coordinator Kingsley Symonds

Team AVCon membership is open applications from any member of the general public who has demonstrated their dedication to the success of AVCon.

Successful applicants will require sponsorship of an existing member of the Team AVCon Elect, Committee or a sub-committee.

Membership requires all members to have volunteered for the event in a previous year or to be a standing committee member currently. If you’re interested in becoming a member, we recommend getting involved with the festival through volunteering. Check out how you can get involved through our Volunteer web page.

Check out our Team AVCon Rules of Association and Membership Forums.